The Beatitudes List in the Bible Scripture (Beatitudes Explained)


The editors at Lord’s Library share the Beatitudes list in the Bible’s scripture from the King James Bible.

The Beatitudes are a collection of eight declarations of blessedness spoken by Jesus Christ in the Sermon on the Mount during the Gospel of Matthew. Each of the Beatitudes is aimed at different circumstances of life and how different types of Christians are blessed through faith.

The Gospel

Matthew 5:3

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 5:4

Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

Matthew 5:5

Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

Matthew 5:6

Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Matthew 5:7

Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

Matthew 5:8

Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

Matthew 5:9

Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.

Matthew 5:10

Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Timothy Andrew
Follow Tim
Timothy Andrew

Timothy Andrew

Tim is the Founder and Ministerial Editor at Lord's Library, a Christian resource hub focused on helping readers grow their faith in Jesus Christ. Tim became a Christian in April 2021 and believes 1 Peter 4:11 commands him to share The Gospel (1 Corinthians 15: 1-4) "as of the ability which God giveth."

scroll to top